Click here for Facebook  Click here to Email Us  Click here to Call us

Board of Supervisors with County Administrator Angie Hill

Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors sets the annual budget and tax rates, enacts legislation governing 

the County and its citizens, sets policies and oversees their implementation. There are seven supervisors; one is elected from each of the seven geographic districts. Terms are four years; three or four seats are up for re-election each odd year.

If you would like to send a message to a member of the Board of Supervisors, please include your name and address in your email.


What we do

Montgomery County's seven supervisors select a chair and vice chair at the first meeting of the year. The chair and vice are voting members of the governing body.

Meetings are held the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7:15 p.m. at the County Government Center, 755 Roanoke St., in Christiansburg. Special meetings may be held when necessary. All meetings are open to the public. Citizens are invited to speak on relevant issues or concerns during public address at each meeting. View meeting agendas and minutes via BoardDocs.

For any action agreed to in a closed meeting to become effective, the Board of Supervisors must reconvene in an open meeting and take a vote of its membership on the particular action, the substance of which must be reasonably identified in the open meeting.

Administrative and legislative responsibilities

  • Preparing the county budget and appropriating funds
  • Levying County taxes  
  • Appointing members of various boards and committees
  • Pre-auditing claims against the county and issuing warrants for their settlement  
  • Constructing and maintaining County buildings
  • Adopting the county's comprehensive land use plan and approving and enforcing related ordinances  
  • Adopting and enforcing ordinances for police, sanitation, health and other regulations permitted by state laws

Resolutions and ordinances

Resolutions and ordinances are formal actions used for county business that is essentially administrative, such as making appointments and appropriating funds.

A public hearing is required before the Board of Supervisors can adopt an ordinance. The public hearing must be advertised for two consecutive weeks prior to the hearing. Emergency ordinances may be adopted without notice, but may not be enforced for more than 60 days unless readopted in the required manner. Land use control ordinances are an exception to this general procedure, requiring individual notice to certain affected property owners and other more stringent procedural requirements.


Board Members

Board of Supervisors

District A: Sara Bohn
District B: Derek Kitts
District C: Steve Fijalkowski, Vice Chair
District D: Todd King
District E: Anthony Grafsky
District F: Mary Biggs, Chair
District G: April DeMotts

Expand all

Collapse all

Contact the county

CAPTCHA - Type the code in field below

Boards of Supervisors

755 Roanoke Street, Suite 2E
Christiansburg, VA 24073

Phone: 540-382-6954
Fax: 540-382-6943


Subscribe to BOS announcements.


Top of page