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Get Ready to Save Money!

Hurricane Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday is May 25-31

Plan to go shopping the last week of May and you will save money. During Virginia’s annual Hurricane
Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday — May 25-31 — no sales tax will be charged on many supplies used to protect
homes and businesses during hurricane and flooding season.

You also can stock up on items for your family’s emergency supply kit. Many everyday items are exempt:
Bottled water of any size, including flavored, carbonated and vitamin water
Artificial ice, blue ice, ice packs, reusable ice

Batteries, excluding car or boat batteries

Battery-powered light sources, including flashlights and lanterns

First aid Kits

Cell phone chargers

Weather Band radios and NOAA Weather Radios

Battery-powered or hand-crank radios, including radio with electrical power option
Two-way radios

Manual can openers

Tarps, plastic sheeting, plastic drop cloths

Duct tape

Bungee cords and rope

Ground anchor systems or tie down kits

Ratchet straps

Carbon monoxide and smoke detectors, fire extinguishers

Empty gas, propane or diesel fuel tanks or containers

Water storage containers such as buckets, barrels, canteens, coolers

Storm shutter devices made for the prevention of storm damage (not plywood)

Save money on big-ticket items, too, with a sales price of $1,000 or less:
e Portable generators and generator power cords
e Inverters and inverter power cables.

Retail outlets will have information about the tax holiday. For a complete list and more information, go to
www.tax.virginia.gov/salestaxholiday. For information about getting ready for hurricane and flooding season
in Virginia, please visit www.ReadyVirginia.gov.
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Virginia’s Hurricane Preparedness -
Sales Tax HoIiday‘May 25 31

Get ready to save money!
Stock up on supplies for your family’s
emergency supply kit and to protect your home.

By law, the items listed below are exempt from Virginia sales tax between May 25 and May 31.

$60 or less
Shop for items in this list that have a sales price of $60 or less:

* Artificial ice, blue ice, ice packs and reusable ice e Empty gas, propane or diesel fuel tanks or containers
* Batteries (excluding automobile or boat batteries) * Water storage containers, including buckets, barrels,
0 AAA, AA, Cand D size canteen, cans, cooler
0 6- or g-volt * Nonelectric food storage coolers
o Cell phone batteries * Bottled water, any size and number of bottles,
* Any battery-powered light sources ,including including flavored, carbonated and vitamin water
flashlights, lanterns and glow sticks -- no candles * Manual can openers
e Tarpaulins, plastic sheeting, plastic drop cloths and e Battery-powered or hand-crank radios (including
other flexible waterproof sheeting radios with an electrical power option)
* Bungee cords and rope * Two-way radios
* Ground anchor systems or tie down kits * Weather band radios and NOAA Weather Radios
e Ratchet straps e Storm shutter devices that are made, rated and
e Duct tape marketed specifically for the prevention of storm
e Carbon monoxide detectors damage to windows -- no plywood
* Smoke detectors e Cell phone chargers
* Fire extinguishers e First aid kits

$1,000 or less
Shop for items in this list that have a sales price of $1,000 or less:

e Portable generators and generator power cords
e Inverters and inverter power cables

Customers can use manufacturer’s coupons to lower the price
of an item so that it will qualify for the $60 or $1,000 price cap.

The Virginia Department of Taxation’s Hurricane Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday Rea d
Guidelines and Rules are available online at www.tax.virginia.gov/salestaxholiday. y L
For detailed information about how to prepare your family for hurricanes and I rg I n Ia
other emergencies, visit www.ReadyVirginia.gov. www.ReadyVirginia.gov




