VIRGINIA'S 4 P.M. BURNING LAW
GOES INTO EFFECT FEB. 15
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Montgomery County, Virginia — The Commonwealth’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect
Feb. 15 — the start of spring fire season in Virginia. Thislaw prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each
day (Feb. 15 — April 30) if the fire is in, or within, 300 feet of woodland, brushland or fields
containing dry grass or other flammable materials.

A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to
the criminal violation, those who alow afire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the
fire aswell as any damage caused to others' property.

If you have any questions regarding when and where to burn, or need advice on a burn situation,
contact your local fire department or Montgomery County Emergency Services Director Neal
Turner, 394-2146, ext. 4158.

E-News in Your Inbox!
To receive news and announcements directly via e-mail, go to MontgomeryCountyVA.gov and click “E-mail Lists.”



